- The account, in one paragraph
- A declared rate is not a discovered rate
- A floating rate inside a fixed term
- Where it sits among the administered rates
- PPF, EPF and GPF are three schemes, not three names
- Why comparing headline rates misleads
- What the commitment actually buys
- Comparing it against something that was not declared in advance
- Common questions
The account, in one paragraph
A PPF account — a Public Provident Fund account — is a savings account run by the government rather than by a bank. You pay in, the balance earns a rate the government declares each quarter, and the money is committed for a term the scheme rules fix.
Notice what is absent from that description. There are no units and no per-unit price, so nothing is marked to market and there is no daily value to watch. There is no counterparty competing for your deposit. And there is no contracted rate: the number that applies is the same rate for everyone holding the scheme in a given quarter, which is unlike anything a bank can offer, because a bank has to quote a rate that keeps your money from walking down the road.
The declared rate for the current quarter is 7.1%.
One thing to say plainly before going further. This article does not state the tenor, the contribution limits, the partial-withdrawal or loan windows, or the tax treatment at any stage. Those are scheme rules and statutory provisions. They get revised, and a revision does not reach every article that quoted the old version — so read them from the scheme's own notification rather than from anybody's summary, this one included. What is stable, and what actually decides whether the account suits a particular job, is the mechanism.
A declared rate is not a discovered rate
Start with how a bank arrives at a deposit rate, because the contrast is the whole point. A bank needs funding. It quotes a rate high enough to attract deposits against what every other bank is quoting, and that cost moves with the policy rate and with how much liquidity is sloshing around the system. The number is a price for money, and it is discovered by competition.
The PPF rate is arrived at differently. An office issues a notification each quarter stating what the small savings schemes will pay. That is an announcement, not a price. No rival is offering a better PPF, so no depositor can move a PPF balance to one, and the rate therefore does not have to move in order to keep the money where it is.
Two consequences follow, and both are behavioural rather than cosmetic. A declared rate can sit unchanged through a full cycle of policy moves, because a notification is permitted to say that the rates stand. It can equally change in a quarter when nothing in the market moved, because the decision is a decision rather than an outcome.
So the familiar reasoning — the RBI cut the repo rate, its policy rate, therefore my savings rate is about to fall — has no mechanism behind it here. The link between a policy rate and a bank deposit rate runs through the bank's funding cost. There is no such channel into a notified rate. This is a genuine difference in how the two instruments behave, not merely a difference in what they currently pay.
A floating rate inside a fixed term
Put a PPF account next to a bank fixed deposit and the structures turn out to be mirror images of each other.
A deposit fixes the rate and fixes the term, so you can compute the maturity value on the day you sign. PPF fixes the term and leaves the rate free to be redeclared every quarter for as long as the account is open — floating rate, fixed term. The maturity value is not computable on day one, and no amount of care in choosing the account changes that.
| Bank fixed deposit | PPF | |
|---|---|---|
| The rate is | Contracted at the start, for the whole term | Declared for a quarter, for the scheme |
| Maturity value known on day one | Yes | No |
| What moves the rate | The bank's funding cost and its competitors | A quarterly notification |
| If rates fall | The existing deposit is unaffected until it matures | The balance earns the new, lower rate |
| If rates rise | The existing deposit stays below market until it matures | The balance earns the new, higher rate |
| Valued daily | No | No |
| Credit exposure is to | One bank, insured to a stated limit | The government |
People file these two side by side under a mental heading like the fixed-return options. Only one of them has a fixed return. The other has a fixed date, which is a different promise altogether — and the difference shows up precisely when rates move, which is when it matters.
Read the two middle rows as a trade rather than as a scorecard. A deposit holder is protected when rates fall and stranded when they rise; the argument for why the second half of that is a real economic loss even though no statement shows it belongs to the deposit comparison. A PPF balance takes the opposite deal in both directions. What it never does is fall in value — the rate can drop to something disappointing, but the balance does not, which is the ordinary behaviour of anything not marked to market.
Where it sits among the administered rates
PPF is one of a family of small savings schemes whose rates are declared rather than quoted. Setting them beside each other is the fastest way to see what the commitment is and is not buying.
| Scheme | Rate declared for the current quarter |
|---|---|
| Public Provident Fund | 7.1% |
| Senior Citizens' Savings Scheme | 8.2% |
| Sukanya Samriddhi Account | 8.2% |
| National Savings Certificate, VIII Issue | 7.7% |
| Post Office Time Deposits | 6.9% for one year, 7.0% for two, 7.1% for three and 7.5% for five |
| Kisan Vikas Patra | 7.5%, maturing in 115 months |
| Post Office Monthly Income Scheme | 7.4% |
| Post Office 5-year Recurring Deposit | 6.7% |
| Post Office Savings Account | 4% |
The PPF rate is not the highest on that list, and it is not near the top of it. Two of the schemes above it are narrower ones, written for a particular holder rather than for anybody — their names say as much, and their own rules say who qualifies. A five-year certificate carries more. So does the longest of the post office time deposits.
That is worth sitting with, because it settles the question the article's title asks. Whatever the commitment is buying, it is not the headline rate. If the rate were the answer, the table would not look like this.
PPF, EPF and GPF are three schemes, not three names
A digression that is not really a digression, because the confusion it describes is the single most common factual error readers carry into this topic.
The Employees' Provident Fund is a workplace scheme, and its rate arrives by a different route entirely — recommended, ratified, then credited. The Central Board of Trustees recommends a rate. The Central Government ratifies it. Only then does EPFO direct that it be credited to member accounts. The ratified rate is 8.25% for FY 2025-26 — the financial year running to March 2026.
Those three stages matter because a headline can report any of them and rarely says which. A report that the rate has been set may be describing a recommendation the government has not yet ratified, and nothing reaches a member's account until the third stage, whatever the first two were called when they happened.
The General Provident Fund is a third scheme again, for government employees, and it is named here only so that it is not mistaken for either of the other two. Its rate is not stated in this article.
The practical error to watch for: a provident fund rate headline almost always concerns EPF, and it tells you nothing about a PPF balance. Different scheme, different instrument, different timetable. Reading the wrong one and adjusting a contribution on the back of it is a decision made on a number that does not apply.
Why comparing headline rates misleads
Any savings vehicle can be taxed at three separate points: the money going in, the return as it builds up year by year, and the money coming out. Two instruments quoting the same rate can land differently at all three, which is why a rate against a rate is not a comparison at all.
The stage that does the most damage quietly is the middle one. An instrument whose return is taxed as it accrues loses that tax out of the compounding base every year — the mechanism is set out in full in the deposit comparison, and it is the reason two instruments with identical headline rates can drift a long way apart over a long horizon.
The arithmetic for putting them on one scale is a division anybody can redo. Take a round 7%, chosen here as an illustration and not as any scheme's rate. If that 7% escapes tax at the accrual stage, then for someone whose marginal rate is 30% it is worth what a taxable 10% would be, because 7 ÷ (1 − 0.30) = 10. For someone at 20%, the same 7% is worth 8.75%. The gross-up grows with the marginal rate, so the identical instrument is worth measurably more to a higher-rate taxpayer than to a lower-rate one.
The contribution stage runs through one provision. The Income-tax Act 2025 allows a deduction of up to ₹1.5 lakh for the savings listed in s.123 read with Schedule XV — the provision most people still call by its old number, 80C — and that deduction belongs to the old regime only. The new regime is the default under s.202 and carries no such deduction, with slabs of nil up to ₹4 lakh, 5% to ₹8 lakh, 10% to ₹12 lakh, 15% to ₹16 lakh, 20% to ₹20 lakh, 25% to ₹24 lakh, and 30% above that.
Two things follow from that, and the second is the one people skip. Which regime you are in decides whether the contribution stage is worth anything at all, before any question about a particular scheme arises — the regime choice is its own decision. And whether a given scheme's contribution sits inside that schedule is a question for the schedule, not for an article.
Where PPF specifically lands at each of the three stages is a statutory question, and this article does not assert an answer to it — check the current Act rather than any article, this one included. The framework is what generalises: until you know the treatment at all three points for both instruments, the two rates you are comparing are not measuring the same thing.
What the commitment actually buys
Three things, and the third is really the first two seen from the other side.
First, it removes the exit decision. There is no screen showing a falling number and no market price to sell into, so the impulse a bad month produces has nothing to act on. The cost of a visible price is not imaginary — it is the whole subject of what investors do during drawdowns — and a committed term removes most of the opportunity to pay it.
Second, it makes the balance an accrual, not a price. Nothing is marked to market, so there is no drawdown to sit through.
Be exact about what that does and does not achieve, though. The interest-rate exposure has been relocated, not removed. A marked-to-market portfolio shows rate moves as a change in value; this account shows them as a change in the rate credited to a balance that never falls. Both are exposure to the same thing, wearing different clothes.
Third — the cost, which is the same property viewed unkindly. Access is restricted by the scheme's own rules, and that restriction is not itemised anywhere. You pay it in a single lump on the day you want money the rules will not release on demand, which is precisely the day you are least able to absorb it. The price of the commitment is paid in optionality, and optionality has no line on any statement.
Which produces the mistake worth naming, because it is common and it is expensive. A long-term committed balance is not part of your emergency reserve, however large and however safe it looks — a reserve is defined by reachability, not by size. Nor is it spendable when you tot up what you are worth; it belongs on the list, with a note that it is locked.
Stated as a trade rather than a feature: you are exchanging access, and the ability to redeploy the money if something better appears, for a rate you do not control and a structure that will not let you make a bad decision with it. Whether that exchange is worth making depends on the job the money has, which is the question the retirement planning frame exists to answer.
Comparing it against something that was not declared in advance
An administered rate needs no tool. It is one number, published, and the arithmetic on it is a compounding calculation you can do on paper.
The comparison that does need evidence is against an instrument whose return nobody announced in advance — where the honest question is not what it returned on average but what the worst stretch looked like over a horizon like yours. FNOTrader's Mutual Funds app runs on the full AMFI NAV history — around 34 million NAV rows, the per-unit price of every scheme — and reports rolling-return distributions across every available start date, alongside maximum drawdown. Against a declared rate, the worst window is the number that answers the question; the average is not.
Historical outcomes describe what happened, not what will happen; past performance does not indicate future results. FNOTrader is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser, and which vehicle suits a particular person turns on facts an article does not have.
Common questions
What is the PPF interest rate?
The rate declared for the current quarter is 7.1%. It is declared by notification for the scheme rather than contracted for your account, so it applies to everyone holding the scheme in that quarter and can be redeclared at a different level while your account is open.
Does the PPF rate move when the RBI changes the repo rate?
There is no mechanism connecting them. A bank deposit rate moves with the policy rate because the policy rate moves the bank's funding cost, and the bank must keep quoting something competitive. A notified rate has no competitor to answer to, so it can sit unchanged through a full cycle of policy moves — or change in a quarter when nothing in the market did.
Is PPF the same as EPF?
No — they are separate schemes with separate machinery. EPF is a workplace scheme whose rate is recommended by the Central Board of Trustees, then ratified by the Central Government, and only then credited by EPFO; the ratified rate is 8.25% for FY 2025-26, the financial year running to March 2026. GPF is a third scheme again, for government employees. A 'provident fund rate' headline almost always concerns EPF and says nothing about a PPF balance.
Why does PPF pay less than SCSS or the National Savings Certificate?
Because the commitment is not being compensated in the headline rate. On the current quarter's declarations, PPF is at 7.1% while the Senior Citizens' Savings Scheme is at 8.2% and the five-year National Savings Certificate at 7.7%. Two of those carry narrower eligibility. Whatever the longer commitment buys, the table shows it is not yield.
How is PPF different from a fixed deposit?
They are structural mirror images. A deposit fixes the rate and the term, so the maturity value is computable on day one. PPF fixes the term and leaves the rate to be redeclared quarterly, so it is not. If rates fall, the deposit holder keeps the old rate and the PPF balance earns the new one; if rates rise, the reverse. Neither is valued daily.
Can a PPF balance serve as an emergency fund?
A reserve is defined by how quickly it can be reached, not by how safe or how large it is. Money committed for a long term fails that test whatever rate it earns, which is why a locked balance sits on a net-worth list with a note rather than in the reserve. The scheme's own withdrawal and loan windows are set out in its notification.
Why can the maturity value not be worked out when the account is opened?
Because the rate is redeclared each quarter for the whole scheme rather than contracted at the account's vintage. Every future quarter's rate is therefore unknown on the day the account opens, and the final balance depends on all of them. A fixed deposit does not have this property, which is the practical difference between a fixed return and a fixed date.
Continue reading
More in Retirement Planning · App: Mutual Funds · Definitions: glossary · Free tools: calculators · All: every article